World-Cup-2019-final-error

Umpire Kumar Dharmasena has admitted that an “error” was made as England was awarded six runs from an overthrow within the 2019 World Cup remaining in opposition to New Zealand on final Sunday (14th July).

A rocket throw by Martin Guptill on the stumps deflected off the bat of a diving Ben Stokes as he tried to finish a second run and raced to the boundary for 4, with Sri Lankan umpire Dharmasena awarding England six runs.

Dharmasena did speak to South Africa’s Marais Erasmus earlier than awarding six runs.

The incident proved to be a turning level of the match as each groups completed at 241 runs after their stipulated 50 overs pushing the match into the Tremendous Over. Nevertheless, either side scored 15 within the Tremendous Over and at last, England was declared as champions on the idea of ‘boundary depend’.

“It’s straightforward for individuals to remark after seeing TV replays,” Dharmasena instructed the Sunday Instances. “I agree that there was a judgmental error after I see it on TV replays now. However we didn’t have the posh of TV replays on the floor, and I’ll by no means remorse the choice I made.

“I did seek the advice of the leg umpire [Erasmus] by means of the communication system which is heard by all different umpires and the match referee,” he instructed the newspaper.

“Whereas they can not examine TV replays, all of them confirmed that the batsmen have accomplished the second run. That is after I made my resolution.

“Moreover, the ICC praised me for the choice I made at the moment.”

A report from the Instances earlier within the week stated that cricket’s lawmakers, the Marylebone Cricket Membership (MCC), plan to evaluation the overthrows legislation once they subsequent meet with the legal guidelines sub-committee, however no timeframe was given.