James Neesham

New Zealand all-rounder Jimmy Neesham on Tuesday mocked the ICC after the apex cricket body removed the controversial boundary count rule that saw his team losing the 2019 World Cup final against England.

The ICC on Monday tweaked the Super Over rule from all its major tournaments following the uproar over the result of the World Cup final in July.

Both the finalists, England and New Zealand, had headed into the tie-breaker after final scores were tied. Once the Super Over also ended in a draw, England was declared the winner on account of a superior boundary count.

“Next on the agenda: Better binoculars for the ice spotters on the Titanic,” tweeted Neesham along with a link about the news of the changes made by the ICC in Super Over rule.

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

The Black Caps were left heartbroken after ICC decided to hand over the World Cup trophy to England on the basis of superior boundary count after the finals and the ensuing Super Over ended in a tie.

Former New Zealand batting coach Craig McMillan, whose final match with the Black Caps was the Lord’s decider, was also unimpressed.

“Bit late ICC,” he tweeted.

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

McMillan even brought up the issue of the controversial overthrow which saw England being awarded six runs in the final over.

It was a Martin Guptill throw which got deflected and raced away to the boundary as Ben Stokes dived to make his ground.

“How about fixing the other rule issue ICC…… a dead ball once the ball has hit/deflected from a batsman?” McMillian wrote.

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js