In the first match of the season at Queen’s Park Oval, the defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders defeated St Kitts and Nevis Patriots by 11 runs.

Chasing a score of 153, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots needed 13 runs to win in the final over. But it was an excellent bowling performance by New Zealand’s medium-pacer James Neesham, picking up the remaining two wickets.

In his quota of 2.4 overs, Jimmy picked up three wickets (Kjorn Ottley, Usama Mir, and Sheldon Cottrell) giving only 18 runs. Mohammad Hasnain also bagged three wickets while Khary Pierre picked two.

Jimmy also played a crucial knock with the bat scoring 33 runs of 30 balls in the middle. For his all-round performance, he was awarded the ‘Player of the Match’.

Earlier, SKP skipper Carlos Brathwaite won the toss and elected to bowl first. TKR lost both their opening batsman in quick succession and were 20/3 at one stage. The TKR captain, Kieron Pollard played a magnificent inning (47 of 32), taking his team to a score of 152 in 20 overs.

Match Result:

Trinbago Knight Riders: 152/7 (20.0)

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots: 141/10 (20.0)

Trinbago Knight Riders won by 11 runs

Guyana Amazon Warriors will face St Lucia Zouks at Providence Stadium for the second match of the tournament.